Just call me Isaiah

On Wednesday nights I attend the University of Pittsburgh’s Campus Crusade for Christ (Cru) weekly meeting. It is a time that I look forward to every week. It’s a place where I can go and worship God with my peers. I don;t know what it is about worshipping with your peers, but it a whole different experience. I highly recommend to those who do not have a place to worship with their peers to find one. This week Cru is going out and spreading the gospel in so many amazing and creative ways. I was so inspired by everyone’s motivation to share God’s word with those on campus. The speaker that night was an amazing women named Laura. She spoke about how God has already commanded us to go and how he has already equipped us with the right words to share with others. What affected me the most was her point about telling people about God. She explained that if we have such amazing news why are we not sharing it? How much do we hate someone to not tell them this amazing news? Her example was if you saw someone about to be hit by a truck would you not tell them to move, and if they wouldn’t move would you not push them out-of-the-way? How much more important is someone’s salvation than being hit by a truck? I think this is an amazing perspective! The first thing that came to mind was the prophet Isaiah. When God was looking for anyone to send to do his will, Isaiah eagerly said send me Lord! Not just send me, but send me anywhere to do anything! There were no conditions! This is how I will live my life. God, I am affirming now that when you are looking for someone to send , send me. I say this with no conditions.

I also have some really exciting news! Over spring break I will be going to Detroit with Urban Immersion to work with the homeless and talk to people about God. I am using this as “practice” for when I go to Jamaica. this  is a great learning experience for me. I ask that you pray for the homeless in Detroit as well as me that I may learn and grow through this experience.

Isaiah 6:8 – Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

This song is based on Isaiah 6 so I wanted to share it with you!

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Fstephedwards.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost-new.php&jsref=&rnd=1327787951581

Posted on 01/28/2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment